How can you count pixels in a raster by value?

02-06-2013 11:09 AM
EmmaYoung
New Contributor
Hi-

I have a raster file classified into 5 values (1-5, zero being no data), with points overlaid in a shapefile.

What I'm trying to do is, within a 2 km buffer around each of these points, count the number of pixels of each value. I've attached a photo. I'm pretty new to Arc, but what I've done so far is use the Zonal tool in the spatial analyst toolbox to export the zonal statistics to a table, with the "input feature zone data" being the buffer shapefile, and the "input value raster" being the underlying raster file containing the pixel values.

From here, I think I need to just add a column to the resulting stat table and have it calculate the number of pixels of each value, but I don't know how to do that.

Any help would be extremely appreciated! I hope all that made sense.

Cheers,
Emma
0 Kudos
11 Replies
EricRice
Esri Regular Contributor
Hi Emma,

Have a look at the Zonal Histogram tool instead.  Zonal Statistics doesn't give you the breakdown of each value within the zone and their counts.  I typically run the Pivot Table tool after Zonal Histogram to turn rows into columns.

Your buffers overlap each other, so you need to iterate through each record (buffer feature) for the results to be correct.  See Iterate Feature Selection.

Best,
Eric
0 Kudos
EmmaYoung
New Contributor
Eric-

Thanks for your help.

I'm not sure I do need to use iterate feature selection, though, because the overlapping buffers are counted as distinct polygons, and so the pixels they cover should be recounted for each overlapping buffer, should they not? The values in the zonal histogram seem distinct... am I totally off-base on this? Thanks.

Emma
0 Kudos
EricRice
Esri Regular Contributor
Emma,