So, how do you use GIS?

07-21-2014 04:16 PM
PETERONDEAU
New Contributor II

Just returning from the UC, my first. I'd love to hear from others how they are using GIS at their facilities.

About me, I'm a CAD guy by trade and training, I got drawn into the GIS world when I started my current job seven years ago. I'm mostly self taught by watching the free videos and by trial and (lots of) error. In spite of myself I've managed to create a very comprehensive dataset using the Local Gov't model and others as well as some homegrown schema. I'm a one man show and I'm working in the Construction & Planning dept at a medium sized university.

I'm using the data "behind the scenes" to help with all of the myriad questions I get asked daily about the state of the campus. How many X do we have? How many miles of edging do our grounds staff do? Where does this retention pond drain to? How many acres of grass do we maintain?

All of that is great, but I'd like to take that next leap. I know I could get a lot of support from other departments by putting this data out there on a server and generating the kinds of great products that I've just been exposed to. What's kept me from doing this in the past is a lack of support from my IT dept and me not feeling comfortable in administering a server. That all changed with ESRI online and Amazon EC2.

I know I can get the funding to set up a testbed and I have a few ideas for what products I'd like to develop first, Interactive campus map, people/department finder, utility locator.

What I'd really like is to hear from those of you who are further down the road. Are you using GIS for maintenance tickets/work orders? Safety patrols or incident reports? Room scheduling? What kinds of unusual uses have you come up with? All suggestions will potentially help me identify new customers and products to offer them.

Thanks,

Pete

3 Replies
ScottStocking
New Contributor II