Change layout of world map

08-11-2010 10:11 AM
ChrissySonke
New Contributor
I am trying to make a map of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding land masses.  The problem is the ldata I have (from ESRI Data and Maps) has the Pacific Ocean split.  Is there a way to change the way the data is viewed so I can see the east Pacific and west Pacific all together?  I have been self-taught on using ArcMap so I don't know all the technical stuff...so please explain as if I don't know anything about the program;)

Thanks in advance.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
WilliamClark
New Contributor II
There are many map projections that leave the Pacific Ocean intact as one piece, you simply need to reproject your data.
In ArcCatolog is easiest... use the toolbox and select Data Management Tools >> Transformations and Projections >> Feature >> Project.  Select >> Projected Coordinate Systems >> World; now select your desired projection...
Here are a couple of projections that are "Pacific-centric" (in a manner of speaking) and which you choose depends on your purpose:
Robinson
Miller cylindrical

You can learn about others here http://webhelp.esri.com/arcgisdesktop/9.3/index.cfm?TopicName=List_of_supported_map_projections
0 Kudos
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
There are many map projections that leave the Pacific Ocean intact as one piece, you simply need to reproject your data.
In ArcCatalog is easiest... use the toolbox and select Data Management Tools >> Transformations and Projections >> Feature >> Project.  Select >> Projected Coordinate Systems >> World; now select your desired projection...
Here are a couple of projections that are "Pacific-centric" (in a manner of speaking) and which you choose depends on your purpose:
Robinson
Miller cylindrical

You can learn about others here http://webhelp.esri.com/arcgisdesktop/9.3/index.cfm?TopicName=List_of_supported_map_projections