spatialReference

08-19-2014 09:38 AM
GianniRossi
New Contributor

Hello,

I’m totally new to the ESRI world but I would like to become a ESRI user for my company, a software house developing local area maps management.

So my questions are very basic: I’ve come across to a database of points having the following structure:

geometry: {

- rings: [

- [

- [

],

.... other elements

]

],

- spatialReference: {

wkid: 102100,

latestWkid: 3857

}

}

I would like to know:

1) What is the reference system of the coordinates ?

2) What are the data in the spatialReference brackets ?

Thanks in advance,

Gianni

0 Kudos
10 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

It basically indicates the spatial reference with a well known ID that Esri and other software packages understand and can relate X, Y coordinates to a location on the earths surface.

The spatial reference can be defined using a well-known ID (wkid) or well-known text (wkt). The well-known id for a given spatial reference can occasionally change. For example, the WGS 1984 Web Mercator (Auxiliary Sphere) projection was originally assigned wkid 102100, but was later changed to 3857. To ensure backward compatibility with older spatial data servers, the JSON wkid property will always be the value that was originally assigned to an SR when it was created.

Starting at 10.1 an additional property, latestWkid, will identify the current wkid value (as of a given software release) associated with the same SR.

Source: Geometry Objects

ESRI:102100: SR-ORG Projection -- Spatial Reference

Kind regards, Xander

GianniRossi
New Contributor

Hello Xander,

Thanks for your reply.

Unfortunately, as I said, I’m completely new to the ESRI world, so I’ll study the docs at the links you posted.

In the mean time, I would like to ask you about those coordinates values:

Do they refer to a specific ESRI SR?

If so, is there a way to transform them into another SR such as UTM or WGS84 latitude/longitude?