Choropleth Map - Fire Department Response Data

03-22-2015 06:58 PM
Labels (1)
BrentVan_Scoy__Fire_
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am in the 4th week of the "Going Places with spatial analysis" and I have a follow up questions pertaining to fire department response data. As we learned in the class, to create a choropleth map it is best to normalize the data for an accurate comparison between areas. They mention with crime data, you would count the number of calls and then divide by the area. I am not sure what that means.

Any suggestion on how to properly normalize my fire response data in order to use in a choropleth map?

Thanks,

Brent

4 Replies
RobinPatton2
New Contributor

Hi Brent

I am an analyst for a Fire Department and most of the time we normalize our incident data by population in a specified area.  We determine the population in a particular response zone and then divide the number of incidents for the same zone by the population - most people call this "per capita" information.  AGOL enrichment tools can help with the population determination and take you even further by letting you explore additional data like housing type and median age or income.

BrentVan_Scoy__Fire_
New Contributor II

Hi Robin,

I will give that a try. I just normalized it by square miles, but I like the idea of the population also.

Thank you for the reply.

Brent

Omaha Fire Department

0 Kudos
hhet
by
New Contributor III

dividing a total "count" by an areal extent will give you a relative measure of your variable.

the final units are aka density.Density is a relationship.

in arcGIS 10.1 , you use Layer Properties to draw quantities using symbol size to show relative value by chooosing the appropriate fields for both Value and Normaliztion.