ArcGIS Pro Database Connections Folder - Organization

Jump to solution
05-06-2015 07:59 AM
BenGrod
Occasional Contributor III

I'm a novice ArcGIS Pro user so forgive me for such a simple question but is there a way to put all of your Database Connection files in one location which is recognized by all Projects you open? Currently it appears that each Project has a list of Database Connection files saved under your My Documents\ArcGIS\Projects\MyProject1 folder. Is there a way to direct ArcGIS Pro to look in another folder which contains your complete set of Database Connection files (.sde). We have a ton of SDE connection files that need to be recreated in ArcGIS Pro and it would be nice to create them once and share them to all projects and users. Thanks in advance for your help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WilliamPollock
New Contributor III

and there is a solution to access connections outside your Project described here:

Accessing existing .sde and .ags Connection Files in ArcGIS Pro

cheers.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Ben,

One thing you could do is add a folder connection (right-click on Folders > Add Folder Connection) to your project that contains all of the SDE connection files.  For example, if you have all of your SDE geodatabase connections stored under 'Database Connections' in ArcGIS Desktop, you would add the following folder:

C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\ESRI\Desktop10.3\ArcCatalog

Note:  It doesn't appear that ArcGIS Pro will show hidden folders (i.e. AppData) when adding a folder connection, so you will need to copy/paste the path into the Name dialog box:

screen1.png

BenGrod