Field calculation with python

Jump to solution
05-22-2015 09:59 AM
KONPETROV
Occasional Contributor III

Hello, i am very new in Python and i need a help at a script i want to build. I want to take the first value from a specific column and put it in the column b, and after that to substact a value = 5 from each row. So as to have this:

a               b

50               50

30               45

60               40

29               35

Any help at that? Thank you!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KONPETROV

Or i can do that. My question here is can i put 10 as a parameter that user will put? Because i tried it unsuccesfully until now.

fields = ['FID', 'a', 'b']

with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(fc, fields) as cursor:

for row in cursor:

if (row[0] == 0):

row[2] = row[1]

a= row[2]

elif (row[0] > 0):

row[2] = a - 10

a = row[2]

cursor.updateRow(row)

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

If your OIDs are in order and consecutive (0,1,2,3,...), you could apply a field calculation like:

ColumnA - (OID*5)

The better, more complicated way, not relying on OIDs, would be to use an UpdateCursor and a counter to update each row value. Inside the cursor, you would have something like:

row[0] = row[1] - (counter * 5)
counter = counter + 1
cursor.updateRow(row)
0 Kudos
KONPETROV

with update cursor with your example won't i get

50 - 0

30 - 5

60 - 10?

0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Oh, you're right, yes, you would. Read too fast.

As Blake is getting at, you would first have to either collect the first or max value (whichever you want) into a variable and then run through the cursor:

row[0] = maxValue - (counter * 5
counter = counter + 1  
cursor.updateRow(row) 

BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor

Saying you want the "first" value is very relative; it depends on how the table is sorted. Do you really just want whatever value is in the first row or do you want a max/min?

JoshuaBixby