How to create Programmatic Popups?

Jump to solution
02-17-2016 09:02 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

This is my first attempt with the Runtime SDK for iOS with Swift (after finding the Qt Runtime SDK to be too buggy) and I have some questions regarding the workflow for creating programmatic popups.  All the code samples I have seen have used AGOL web maps rather than feature services directly.  So far, I just have a basic map with a map service and 2 feature layers that I need to make pop ups for.  I have set up the AGSPopupInfo's for each feature layer and am not sure what the rest of the workflow should look like.

My best guess is to call the queryFeatures() method from each feature layer and pass in a geometry from the map touch delegate.  From here, I am stuck as I do not know how to handle the query delegate and more specifically passing the operation returned from the query to the handler since it is outside the scope where the query operation is performed.  I think I should also be using the AGSPopupsContainer as well.  Is there a better or more appropriate workflow to accomplish this?

Does anyone have any code samples for how you have done programmatic popups for feature service layers (not AGOL web maps)?  This is the code I have so far but I am struggling:

import UIKit

import ArcGIS

let kBasemapLayerName = "Basemap Tiled Layer"

var isAdmin = false

let sightingFields = ["Visual_Cue", "Tree_Stress", "Knowledge_Level", "EAB_Found_On", "Comments", "Site_Description", "Latitude", "Longitude", "Site_Address", "Inspector_Name", "Email"]

let countyFields = ["CTY_NAME", "QUARANTINED"]

// MARK: reference feature layers

let countiesURL = NSURL(string: "http://services.arcgis.com/g2UdLvZr5lOrmlXl/arcgis/rest/services/EAB_FS/FeatureServer/1")

let counties = AGSFeatureLayer(URL: countiesURL, mode: .Snapshot)

let sightingURL = NSURL(string: "http://services.arcgis.com/g2UdLvZr5lOrmlXl/arcgis/rest/services/EAB_FS/FeatureServer/0")