Carrying out Logistic Regression in ArcGis

08-21-2016 04:28 AM
HenryCann
New Contributor

Hi all,

Firstly just wanted to acknowledge that I have seen this post here https://community.esri.com/thread/41562 

which provides some clues regarding how to do this - however my knowledge does not appear to be sufficient for me to follow.

Basically I understand that you can utilise R packages to carry out logistic regression in R. I have already carried out my own logistic regression in R but would prefer to do this in arcmap for the mapping capabilities.

I also understand that you need to import a script written for R into arcmap. I've seen references to creating a custom toolbox?

However I'm not sure how to proceed; could somebody break this down into steps for me? I am new to working with scripts.

Many thanks in advance,

Henry

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

The bridge tools do exist ... without the interface... since the Scipy stack is now available in PRO What is conda?—ArcPy Get Started | ArcGIS for Desktop but there are no readily available tools. Also, the full Scipy related functionality isn't installed.  I am not sure if scikit learn is part of the distribution which is what you would want for regression ( 1.1. Generalized Linear Models — scikit-learn 0.17.1 documentation )  You might be advised to get outputs into a mappable form supported by ArcGIS rather than trying do the analysis within arc* since you will be effectively be relying on the sci* invocations.

Should you have, or are moving to ArcGIS PRO, this is a link to my initial documentations about the new access to more advanced funtionality including numpy, scipy and the like

/blogs/dan_patterson/2016/07/17/anaconda-spyder-and-arcgis-pro 

HenryCann
New Contributor