SDE with SQL Server

11-28-2016 12:41 PM
SherrieKubis
Occasional Contributor

SQL Server 2016 

SDE 10.5 

Our SDE prototype to migrate from Oracle is ramping up.   We have experience with SDE in Oracle, but not in SQL Server.  Because this pilot will continue for the next year, we are going with the latest and greatest versions.  I'm looking for best practices, suggestions, tips on using SDE in MS SQL.  

In Oracle, we have a master geodatabase and user-schema geodatabases in the same Oracle database.  We do versioned editing in the user-schema gdbs.  

Can anyone share their experience?  I'm just starting, getting the terminology down and a staging SQL instance and database up and running.  There is a lot to learn. 

Sherrie

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

I have no idea how Oracle works but I've been running SQL Server since version 2003 or so as the back end to our enterprise (pc for SDE) database.

I have one schema that all my users follow, and none of them own it.  In SQl Server, if a user owns a schema, you can't delete the user.

I have one version, and I call it (drum roll)  edit.  All the users are a member of the (another drum roll...)  edits group so I can assign privileges to the group instead of individual users.  If a user wants to create their own version from the edit version they are free to do so.  I have another group called datausers.  Members only have get read privileges.

Can't say if these are best practices, but they've worked for me for quite a while.

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor

The biggest differences you will encounter are:

1. Oracle is the only RDBMS where user-schema databases are possible, so you'll need to choose between a different user or a different database for editing.