Slow performance with python?

12-22-2010 06:12 AM
AndrewTewkesbury
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to python and have just made my first script but am very disapointed with the performance acheived, not sure if this is a problem with the script or inherent? First my script......

I'm working on a problem of spatially joining road edge vertices to the nearest road centreline vertex. The potential problem encountered here is where wide road edges are closer to an adjacent roads centreline than their own and hence will be joined to the wrong road. To solve this I draw a line between two candidate vertices and proceed only if this line is completely within the road area (the joining line does not jump between roads).

Here is an exerpt of the script which is looping through the road edge vertices:

#start the counter. Used to select vertices sequentially
count = 1
#Setup search cursor for the road outline vertices
rows1 = arcpy.SearchCursor("RoadOutline_Points_Layer")
#Loop through each road outline vertex joining each to its nearest intrinsic centreline vertex
for row1 in rows1:
    #create a variable used to select outline (OL) vertices by their unique ID
    id_sel = "OLID = %f" % count

#Select a point based upon its ID
    arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management("RoadOutline_Points_Layer","NEW_SELECTION",id_sel)

#Calculate the distance between each road centreline vertex and the selected outline point
    arcpy.Near_analysis(p_centrelinepoints,"RoadOutlin e_Points_Layer")

#Sort the centreline vertices by this calculated distance and export to a new featureclass
    arcpy.Sort_management(p_centrelinepoints,"RoadCentreline_Points_Near","NEAR_DIST")

#Delete the near analysis fields from the centre line points
    arcpy.DeleteField_management(p_centrelinepoints,["NEAR_DIST","NEAR_FID"])

#Create a layer from the new FC
    arcpy.MakeFeatureLayer_management("RoadCentreline_ Points_Near","RoadCentreline_Points_Near_Layer")