Need help draping image onto DEM

02-23-2017 08:29 PM
MiguelSilva3
New Contributor II

Hello;

I am new to ArcGIS and I need help with ArcScene. I have been trying to drape an aerial image which I exported from Google Earth onto a DEM I created; but I keep receiving an error:

"Base Surface

The layer and specified surface do not overlap in extent.

Verify they are for the same study area."

I have three files:

Contours 

DEM and 

Aerial photo

Both contours and DEM are a perfect match after selecting floating on a custom surface on Base Height in properties for each.

I will appreciate very much any help!!

Thanks

Miguel

0 Kudos
11 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

sounds like one file is in a different coordinate system

0 Kudos
MiguelSilva3
New Contributor II

Thanks...I already sent copy of Metadata;  Ia musing same GCS and projection for both files; still they are far apart

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

something is wrong, I would go back to the originals.  One of the files at least had the 'Define Projection' used on it.  If a file had an unknown coordinate system, don't define it to what you want it to be, but to what it is.  Once you can confirm that the files do indeed have an overlapping extent, get them in the same coordinate system

MiguelSilva3
New Contributor II

That makes sense...I will start from scratch again

0 Kudos
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

There could be a dataset with a wrongly defined coordinate system. Could you share screenshots of the extents (Layer Properties > Source) of all the layers? Most common mistake is to define a Projected coordinate system (Linear unit like Meters) for a dataset with values which should have been in Geographic Coordinate System (Angular Unit like Decimal Degrees).

Think Location
0 Kudos
MiguelSilva3
New Contributor II