ExtractByMask returns 999999 error in 10

12-29-2010 12:04 PM
ErinIverson
New Contributor II
I get the error 999999 when I try to run the Extract By Mask tool from ArcToolbox in ArcGIS 10. Using the exact same files the extraction runs in 9.3.

I've tried converting my mask from feature class to shapefile, and nothing has worked. It gets to the "Converting features..." message in the tool, and fails:

ERROR 999999: Error executing function.
Failed to open raster dataset.
Failed to execute (ExtractByMask).
11 Replies
TravisCole
New Contributor II
I don't see any reply to this one...I assume no one knows how to fix it?  I have tried several different ways and I can't get anything to work.  I hate to complain, but half the processes I used in 9.3 no longer work correctly.  I frequently get no attribute tables after processes.
0 Kudos
LucasBannan1
New Contributor
Hey guys, I'm a recent grad, so relatively knew to using Arc 10...and GIS for that matter,and I currently have lots of time on my hands. I frequent the forums and came across this post and did some quick web searching. I found some stuff and thought I would throw out some ideas for you to try, if you haven't tried them already, since no one had really responded.

The first thing I came across is that it may be a space availability issue, so you might try setting the temp and TMP variable in the Environments variable to a disk which has adequate space. Or another thing I found was to try and copy your files to another drive/folder and seeing if you still get the error.

If you know for a fact that it is not the space issue, the other thing I came across was to try using the clip tool and set the Output Extent as the mask shape file, as well as checking to Use Input Feature for Clipping Geometry.

So I'm not exactly sure about each of your data sets and what your trying to do, but hope my 2 cents can help in some way.
0 Kudos
TravisCole
New Contributor II