For loop with Closest Facility

04-05-2017 11:51 AM
BrianMariska
New Contributor

Hi I'm new to Python and trying to write a script to make my life easier.  I'm hoping to write a code that will allow me to import a shapefile of 10,000 points into "Incidents" and then another another shapefile of 600 points into "Facilities".  What I want to get is the distance from each of those 10,000 points to each of the 600 "Facilities" so basically run 600 different Closest Facility and print the Distance from each point into a table. Do I have to split that shapefile into 600 separate shapefiles or is it possible to loop through them without that?  Like I said I'm very new to Python so any input on the syntax would be much appreciated! Let me know what you guys are thinking.

python help‌ closest facility networkanalyst‌

0 Kudos
4 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

I'm tagging Python‌  to get more exposure to your question.  You have this posted in the Network Analyst community, but I'm not sure if you are really trying to create a network or just a near table.

check out the help topics for Near—Help | ArcGIS Desktop and Generate Near Table—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

I'm pretty sure you don't need to create a featureclass for each facility. You can create a layerfile in memory looping over the facilities and use that featurelayer with the single facility in "arcpy.na.AddLocations" to set the facilities.

See: ClosestFacilitySolverProperties—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

RachelApplebaum
Esri Contributor

You should not need to create many different feature classes for your incidents. You could load all 10k points in as incidents, set the defaultTargetFacilityCount  of the ClosestFacilitySolver to <null> (which will have the analysis route from every incident to every facility) or to 600 (the number of your facilities), and run the analysis. 

ClosestFacilitySolverProperties—Help | ArcGIS Desktop