clipping shapefile based on .adf file

04-18-2017 12:45 AM
Labels (1)
RabinsGaudel
New Contributor II

Hi, I am doing my thesis work on LiDAR data. I try to clip shape file based on (.adf) file. I could not find the right tool or help for this operation. I tried clip but computer does not  understand (.adf) as raster format. I tried to convert it to TIFF ( by export-save as .tif) but it did not solve the problem. It would be good if someone could help me with this issue. Thanks in advance..

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

clip requires a featureclass to do the clipping.  What tool are you trying to use?

0 Kudos
AbdullahAnter
Occasional Contributor III

Two Clip tools in Arc toolbox:

One for raster as Dan mention --> Arc Toolbox > Data Management Tools > Raster >  Raster Processing  > Clip

Clip—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

Second for Vector Data --> Arc Toolbox > Analysis > Extract > Clip

Clip—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

I think the OP wants to clip using a raster... both tools noted use vector inputs.  The extent of the raster can be used to create a clipping extent.

0 Kudos
AbdullahAnter
Occasional Contributor III

My pervious comment for clarify .

Dan, the tool always relate to Input that will process on .The first tool for clipping Raster input ( ESRI doesn't  put it in Raster toolset for nothing), and the second tool in my post for clipping vector Input.

DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Ok... I was just clarifying that he wanted to clip a vector using a raster, which no tool does.

RabinsGaudel
New Contributor II