Exporting Selected Features from Multiple Layers

04-20-2017 12:57 PM
JonSymoniak
New Contributor

Hello,

I am new to the Arcmap world, adding knowledge to my resume.  One task that I feel should be even more simple than it could be is exporting .shp files.  In my attachment i am showing that i have multiple features selected that are all on different layers.  I cannot find a batch export.  All i can do is select the all the features i want and then one by one export them by right clicking the layer it resides in and exporting data.  But i have to do this one layer by layer.  Please tell me there is a faster way or more efficient way of exporting multiple features all from different layers. A batch export of selected features would be great.

Thanks in advance!

(ARCMAP 10.3.1)

0 Kudos
5 Replies
SolomonPulapkura
Occasional Contributor III

With the features selected in ArcMap, open ArcToolbox > Analysis Tools > Extract. In the Extract toolset, right click on the Select tool and choose Batch.

This should do what you want. 

Good luck!

Solomon Pulapkura

GIS & Environmental Engineering Services | Vestra 

JonSymoniak
New Contributor

Thanks for the reply Solomon.

I suppose this would work but still is cumbersome.  Even with all my features selected I still need to pick what input feature they are are and select an output folder. Typically I just right click the sub layer and export data.  I'm still thinking there is another way.  I wish i could just right click on the map itself and export data for all of my selected features, no matter what layer they are on and create a shape file for each.

0 Kudos
SolomonPulapkura
Occasional Contributor III

I hear you...

It can be done but you will need to develop a custom GP tool or model to do that. Unfortunately there is no out of the box way other than right clicking on each sub-layer.

Solomon Pulapkura

https://www.vestra.com

0 Kudos
JonSymoniak
New Contributor