SplitArea Function

05-22-2017 07:11 PM
AbhishekSobbana
New Contributor II

Hi, I am trying to break down a parcel using splitArea(x/z) function some how it says unexpected token: splitArea.

I am trying to build a query where I can divide parcel 60-40% and in which 40% of the plot be subdivided into 3000sqm area and extrude building over it. Also I want to manage the orientation based on some angle (0-360 deg)

Can somebody help me with this. or suggest be best possible way to do this

Thank you

Ab

0 Kudos
13 Replies
DavidWasserman
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Abhishek, 

Can you tell us your CE Version? Are you included all expected parameters? 

David Wasserman, AICP
0 Kudos
AbhishekSobbana
New Contributor II

Hi David,

I am having City Engine V 2015.2 advanced License. I am new to CityEngine so I am following tutorial, I don't know what parameters are needed for the function to work. Please let me know if my version covers everything that is needed.

Thanks 

Ab

AbhishekSobbana
New Contributor II

Hi all, While searching in the discussion forum, I found part of my answer of dividing the plot in direction to achieve the floor area for building which is 3000 sqm.

split(x) {50 : split(z){60:Extrude_Building}*}*}

also the rotation scope can be managed via,

rotateScope(0,Rotation,0)

but I am unable to randomize the split function, lets say my plot has to be divided in 33% of green cover and 27% of Openspace (which will also include setback from street and distance between the buildings) and rest 40% should be cover by buildings with 3000sqm foot print, and all this should also gives options so that when I regenerate the model I can choose which is better.

I tried using the percentage but somehow it is not working

Lot -->

35% : split(x) {50 : split(z){60:Extrude_Building}*}*
27% : OpenSpace
33% : Greencover
else : Extrude_Building

The above code provides just the one of the options but not all together.

Can anyone suggest how can I achieve this.

Thanks