Visual Studio fans: someone explain debugging to me

01-07-2011 02:54 PM
CaleBerkey
New Contributor
All,

I'm a C# developer and know VS well.  I developed VBA-backed ArcGIS solutions a number of years ago but am now getting back into GIS dev work.  I've stepped through some ESRI examples for creating simple ArcMap Add-Ins and all makes sense, but I'm having problems with my breakpoints and debugging.  Before launching into deeper questions, can someone briefly explain what a healthy ArcMap Add-In debug process looks like?  As a hint for where I'm going:
1) I'm seeing "The breakpoint will not currently be hit. No symbols have been loaded for this document." problems with the breakpoints.
2) The ArcGIS crash reporter gizmo seems to prevent the debugger from halting the code so I can examine the stack trace.  When debugging an ArcMap Add-In and you hit a bug, should Visual Studio then leap into action so I can examine the trace or do I have to examine the dump files?

I'm on VS2010 and ArcGIS 10 on XP. 

Thanks tons,

Cale
0 Kudos
10 Replies
RichardWatson
Frequent Contributor
If you want to debug ArcMap then you have 2 choices:
1) Set ArcMap.exe as the startup process for the project that you are building, i.e. your "library", and then hit run/F5.
2) Run ArcMap.exe and then attach Visual Studio as the debugger.  I think that it is called something like "Attach to process".  Use the Visual Studio instance with the project/library that you want to debug open.

You should build your project/library using the Debug configuration.  Make sure that the generated pdb file sits physically next to the dll.  When you do that then you should be able to set breakpoints.  If that isn't working then you can look at the modules that are loaded (there is a view for that in Visual Studio) and try to figure out where it is getting the DLL.

We do this extensively and it works well.
0 Kudos
CaleBerkey
New Contributor
Richard,