Single band raster with multiple values to multiple rasters with single value.

Jump to solution
06-14-2017 10:47 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hoping I can get some direction here for iterating in model builder, I've looked around the forums/internet and haven't found what I am looking for, which I feel is a fairly straight forward model. 

I have a single raster with values from 1-90, each correspond to a land use class. I want to create a model that will extract each value and save it as a new raster. So instead of having one raster with 90 values, I will have 90 rasters each with its own land use value. I could do this as a batch processing "extract by attributes" but that get tedious fast when you want to extract 90 classes. 

I have tried some iterate functions coupled with the "extract by attributes" but I am a beginner at model builder and am not setting the model up correctly. The output rasters I am getting are just copies of the input raster, named by their land use class, but they still have all 90 classes in each of them. 

Does anyone have an example model I could look at or suggestions on what I may be doing incorrectly, that would be much appreciated!

Thanks!  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

You can use the script below to create a raster for each land use class:

def main():
    import arcpy
    import os

ras = r'C:\Datos\test\data.gdb\myRaster'  # path to input raster
    ws, ras_name = os.path.split(ras)
    base_name = "landuse"  # base name for output rasters

# settings
    arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True
    arcpy.env.workspace = ws
    arcpy.env.cellSize = ras
    arcpy.env.extent = ras

fld_value = 'VALUE'
    lst_values = [r.getValue(fld_value) for r in arcpy.SearchCursor(dataset=ras, fields=(fld_value))]

arcpy.CheckOutExtension("Spatial")
    raster = arcpy.Raster(ras)
    for value in lst_values:
        new_ras = arcpy.sa.Con(raster == value, value)