Two maps of Detroit on different sides of the globe

06-15-2017 03:36 PM
AndreMasnari1
New Contributor II

Hello,
I'm a bit new to GIS and am having a bit of an issue
I have a .csv that i have converted into a feature class- the feature class displays correctly(it is a map of all robberies in Detroit in a given  year).  
I also have a .shp that is all of the locations of the lights in the same city- it also displays correctly, but in a completely different part of the map.
When I add a basemap, the .shp points are all in the correct city, while the .csv created feature class is out in the Atlantic ocean.
I have ensured that all the layers and the data frame are using the same geo reference systems.

I'm at a bit of a loss here.

I've attached both the .shp in a zip and the .csv I'm working with.  Any help would be much appreciated.  

0 Kudos
13 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

without even looking... if it is in North America, the longitudes need to be negative

AndreMasnari1
New Contributor II

Yes, they are negative

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

The csv doesn't have a defined coordinate system then and you haven't mixed up longitude (X) and latitude (Y) have you?... copy a few lines and paste to save the whole download and unzip thing.

0 Kudos
JoshuaSchwartz
New Contributor III

Here's what I see when I follow the workflow below:

Here was my workflow:

1. Open ArcMap
  2. Add .csv to TOC
  3. Right-click on .csv and select "Disply XY Data"
  4. Select WGS84 as the Geographic Coordinate system, and ensure X = Longitude field and Y = Latitude field
    1. Results = robberies.csv Events appears in TOC, with points plotted in correct locations.
  5. Add OriginalOHLights to TOC
    1. Results = OHLights points appear in correct location

His longitudes are negatives, BTW.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus