Python code question

07-14-2017 10:17 AM
LeifJohnson
New Contributor II

Hello, i downloaded a python code that is intended to send email notification to me when a feature has been added to a layer. I'm a novice when it comes to codes and coding and keep getting stuck. To clarify a little further i saw a document (link here) that i am attempting to implement. I downloaded the code and tried for awhile trying to get it to work but unfortunately i haven't had any luck. The error i keep receiving is "Cannot perform query. Invalid query parameters.
Unable to perform query. Please check your parameters.
No where clause specified.
(Error Code: 400)" ....I think it has something with the way i am querying the information but not sure. I marked out all of the username and passwords but if anyone had any suggestions on how i might get the enclosed file to start working it would be greatly appreciated. 

To add on i'm using python 3.5.3

0 Kudos
12 Replies
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

Around line 64, instead of:

'query': "'STATUS'= 'Unassigned'",

Try it without single quotes around STATUS:

'query': "STATUS = 'Unassigned'",
0 Kudos
LeifJohnson
New Contributor II

Thanks Randy for your reply. I tried doing that and get the same message. 

0 Kudos
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

I noticed a slash at the end of your service url around line 62. I don't think it should be there, so try removing it along with my previous suggestion.

'service url': 'https://services6.arcgis.com/ ... /Complaint/FeatureServer/0/'

If that doesn't fix it , then I'd add a "print sql" around line 115, as indicated above, which should show you what the where query is.

# build sql
sql = "{} != '{}'".format(message['status field'], message['completed value'])
sql += " AND {}".format(message['query'])

print sql # find out if sql is being properly formated

feature_layer = FeatureLayer(email_service['service url'], target)