Personal or File Geodatabase

Jump to solution
07-18-2017 08:27 AM
FaithWebster
Occasional Contributor

I have inherited a project that uses Nomads with ArcPad to collect point data. I have limited ArcPad knowledge, so I have been reading the material available online. In "How to: Check Out/In data from ArcMap to ArcPad for editing," it specifies to use a personal geodatabase. Is there a specific reason for this or is a file geodatabase equally, or possibly more advantageous? 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If you are referring to How To: Check Out/In data from ArcMap to ArcPad for editing , just to let you know, the article is valid for ArcPad 7.x.

File Geodatabase was introduced with ArcGIS 9.2. So I believe you can use File GDB as well if you are working with ArcGIS/ArcPad 9.2.x or later.

Think Location

View solution in original post

9 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

We still output our ArcPad collection to shape files, but it is an older app (still running on 7.1.1) and our post processing is still setup to process them. This project only happens every 2-5 years, so when I work on the project I pick and choose what to update (if it ain't broken...). 

My post-collection scripts process the shapes and convert them to features classes in a file GDB.  In general, that isbetter format for maintaining and working with the data in the future, in my opinion.  But if you program is working, I wouldn't change it.

Are you needing to check out/in data?  Or is is collection only.  That could make a difference too.

It would help to know what version of ArcPad you are using.  I am not personally familiar with the Nomads, so can't offer any advice there other than making sure that it is compatible with the version you are using.

File GDB's in

0 Kudos
FaithWebster
Occasional Contributor