How to make thematic maps

07-19-2017 01:47 PM
ChristopherJones-Carey
New Contributor

I need to make some thematic maps that show a 5, 10, and 15 minute drive time demographics for population density, and one for income levels.  And I need to make a map that shows alcohol beverage spending levels.  I know these can be done through esri or arcgis, so would you be able to help me out?  I’m brand new to the software.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

first question.... do you have the Network Analyst Extension? Main link and tutorial

Then there are basic tutorials here...

Once you have a grasp on these, then details can be worked out

0 Kudos
ChristopherJones-Carey
New Contributor

I’m not sure if I have the Network Analyst Extension… I downloaded the trail of ArcGIS pro desktop, so I have whatever comes with that. Where would I look to see if I have this extension?

Christopher Jones-Carey

Office Administrator

Christopher.Carey@FranklinSt.com<mailto:Christopher.Carey@FranklinSt.com>

Franklin Street

7751 Belfort Parkway, Suite 110 | Jacksonville, FL 32256

Office: 904.271.4120 ext. 812 | Fax: 904.899.5890

Direct: 904.899.0312 | Cell: 813.998.4546

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

go to the Customize menu, select Extensions... if the Network Analyst is there, check it on

0 Kudos
ChristopherJones-Carey
New Contributor

I don’t see a customize menu, however under ”licensing”, it does have a “Yes” next to network analyst.

Christopher Jones-Carey

Office Administrator

Franklin Street

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

sorry, you are right.... I use both ArcMap and ArcGIS Pro... same idea, different mechanics

0 Kudos
ChristopherJones-Carey
New Contributor