ArcMap shapefiles are not overlaying even with the same coordinate systems.

Jump to solution
07-26-2017 10:24 PM
VictoriaJohnson1
New Contributor

Hi, everyone! So I'm fairly new to using ArcMap and have only taken one introductory level course using this system. I know the basics but can still get very confused. If this happens to be an easy fix then silly me, but I'm still learning!

Anyway, when I upload two shapefiles to ArcMap they are not overlapping. I have to click "Zoom to Layer" to see each one. I know I have to change the coordinate systems but I am unsure how... If anyone would like to see the data I am using, I am using an Oklahoma Counties Shapefile and the Tornado Shapefile provided by NOAA. The links to each are provided below:

This is the link to the Oklahoma Counties shapefile. I downloaded the county shapefile for the entire state!

This is the link to the tornado shapefile provided by NOAA. I downloaded the torn.zip that you will see halfway down the page. It is the first of the three listed!

How do I get these two shapefiles to overlap? I have spent hours trying to figure this and have been reading/searching other posts but but I am not getting anywhere. Any help that can be provided would be great!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ChristopherMcClain
Occasional Contributor II

I downloaded the two data sets you linked and they overlay fine.  For the Oklahoma Counties Shapefile you need to download a separate .prj file for some reason (not really sure why they did it this way) and make sure you copy it to the same location as the other files that make up the shapefile (.shp, .dbf, etc.).

Screenshot

View solution in original post

8 Replies
AbdullahAnter
Occasional Contributor III

I know I have to change the coordinate systems but I am unsure how

To change coordinate system for layer use project tool. make them same.

Try to import the output coordinate system from the other shape file .To make sure they will be same.

0 Kudos