Convert VB to Python, Help?

Jump to solution
08-03-2017 05:06 PM
TomMagdaleno
Occasional Contributor III

Hi all, I am new to Python and trying to make an older piece of code work.  It takes two tables, compares them, and if data in table A doesn't match table B it overwrites A with B. 

If they are equal it leaves them alone...

dim intval

if [STR_NUM] = [SITUS_NR] then

intval = " "

else

intval = [STR_NUM]

end if

If it finds a "nil" in a field in table B it clears the field in table A

dim intval

if [STR_NUM] = "nil" then

intval = " "

else

intval = [SITUS_NR]

end if

Finally it overwrites table A if it finds data in table B

dim intval

if [STR_NUM] <> " " and [STR_NUM] <> "nil" then

intval = [STR_NUM]

else

intval = [SITUS_NR]

end if

Can anyone help me convert these or at least one to Python?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

Per Dan's suggestion, paste the following code into the codeblock (top) section.

def func_shun(a, b):
    the_result = [a, ""][a == b]
    return the_result

In the lower section, paste only the following (I think I have the spelling of your joined tables correct):

func_shun( !asrerror_log_20170803.STR_NUM!, !cam_apn_old.SITUS_NR!)

VB would use square brackets around the field names, but Python uses exclamation marks.  So field calculator is getting confused.  You do have the Python parser selected.  The photo in my post below should help.

View solution in original post

14 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Not applicable for file comparisons but could be implemented as a one-liner (line 11) or turned into a function (using lines 15-) for use within a program or the field calculator

"""
if [STR_NUM] = [SITUS_NR] then
intval = " "
else
intval = [STR_NUM]
end if
"""
# ---- as a field calculator expression or a line of code ----
# for example a = 1, b = 2 or a = 'a', b = 'b'

[" ", a][a == b]  # [False, True][condition check]

# ---- more verbose

if a == b:
    val = " "