geoprocessing tool output to geometry object in for loop

02-13-2011 08:52 AM
ChristianDevenish
New Contributor II
Hi,

I'm new to python (and programming in general), in a script I want to loop through a feature class, use a geoprocessing tool on each row, and access the area of the new (temporary features) created by the tool. 

On the help pages for the geometry object, it states that a blank object can be created for temporary output, for example:

workspace = ".../file.gdb"
testShape = ".../test_graphics"
dBufDis = -10

g = arcpy.Geometry()
geometryList = arcpy.Buffer_analysis(testShape, g, dBufDis)
for geometry in geometryList:
    print geometry.area

The above works on my test shape and I get a list of areas of the new buffers, however, I want to put the geoprocessing tool into a loop something like this:

rows = arcpy.SearchCursor(testShape)

for row in rows:
    g = arcpy.Geometry() 
    rowShape = row.getValue(shapeName)
    arcpy.Buffer_analysis(rowShape, g, dBufDis)

and then access the area for each row, but this is where I can't seem to get to the area property of the temporary geoprocessing output. Why doesn't "g.area" return the area? If .area is a property of the geometry object? Hasn't g been "populated" by the output of the processing tool for each row?

Thanks for any help.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
KimOllivier
Occasional Contributor III
You would think that you would extract a geometry object using a cursor, but it doesn't work for some obscure reason. You have to extract out all the vertices, put them in an array and rebuild a geometry object array. Much too hard.

If you copy the entire featureclass into a geometry object and loop through that array of objects then it will work as expected. They are examples in the 10.x help but they skip any advice on the appropriateness of the function for geoprocessing.