ArcGIS Online viewer: 'change symbols' not available for selection

08-24-2011 08:39 AM
MikeBell
New Contributor III
I created a simple map in ArcGIS Online viewer. I added a layer from our AGS and then went to re-symbolise but the 'change symbols' window is not available when I click the arrow. Is this something to do with the type of AGS service I'm using?

Apologies in advance - I'm brand new to most of this so may have missed a step.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
11 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
The Change Symbol option is not available for layers based on ArcGIS Server because the symbology is defined by the map that the service is created from.

Thanks,

Mike
0 Kudos
MikeBell
New Contributor III
I created a simple map in ArcGIS Online viewer. I added a layer from our AGS and then went to re-symbolise but the 'change symbols' window is not available when I click the arrow. Is this something to do with the type of AGS service I'm using?

Apologies in advance - I'm brand new to most of this so may have missed a step.

Thanks - I suspected that may be the case but couldn't find an explicit mention in the help.

Mike
0 Kudos
shreyesshiv
New Contributor III
The Change Symbol option is not available for layers based on ArcGIS Server because the symbology is defined by the map that the service is created from.

Thanks,

Mike

Hi Mike in this case is there any documentation on what kind of services symbology can be defined, if i want to create a thematic then what kind of service has to published?
0 Kudos
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
Things have changes a bit over the last 2 years when this thread was started.

• You can publish a feature service (hosted or ArcGIS Server) which allows symbology changes.

• A dynamic map service running on ArcGIS Server allows symbology changes