How to process .XYZ format data

12-08-2011 05:20 AM
RashidiIsa
New Contributor
Hi everyone,

I'm an undergraduate student, need help for my final year thesis. I have a LIDAR data which is in .XYZ format. How can I process the data to generate a raster files? I have tried using ASCII 3D to Feature Class tool under 3D Analyst/Conversion toolset in ArcCatalog, however, the .shp files generated is problematic. The points do not have height information, hence, I cannot proceed to generate TIN. I do not understand why the software cannot read the Z information from the .XYZ files. Is there any other way to create raster files from the .XYZ files? Really need help..(Note : I'm using ArcGIS 9.3 and the .XYZ files using TAB separator)

Thank you
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
PeterStratton
New Contributor
Could you attach a sample of your lidar data (for download) that includes the column headers and a few hundred rows?  It would be easier to troubleshoot if we can look at a sample of the xyz data you're trying to work with.
0 Kudos
RashidiIsa
New Contributor
here is the sample of the file...hopefully u can help...thanks...
0 Kudos
JieChang
Esri Contributor
The output of the 'ASCII 3D to Feture' tool (Output Feature Class Type: POINT) is a 3D feature class and contains Z information. Run the Add XY Coordinates tool (Data Management Tools > Features) and the Z values will be added into the attribute table.
0 Kudos
RashidiIsa
New Contributor
Thanks for the advice! 🙂 I've tried the 'Add XY  Data' using sample data (the one that I've simplified) which contains only 1048576 points instead of using the full data and yes, it works..! I can proceed to generate TIN and also raster files.

However, when I tried using the full data which contain 51424541 points, TIN cannot be generated. Is it because of the file size..?
0 Kudos
PrasantaBhattarai
Esri Contributor