Spatial analysis services and public users

10-14-2013 05:52 PM
AnnaWhipple
New Contributor
Sorry if this is a double post. I was having trouble with the forum posting.

I am not a developer, but I'm trying understand a little about the spatial analysis services in ArcGIS Online. According to the documentation, to use spatial analysis (like Summarize Nearby tool) in the ArcGIS.com viewer requires a named user within the Publisher role. If you are using the Spatial Analysis API to consume those AGOL services into a separate, custom website, can non-named (public) users without AGOL accounts use the spatial analysis tools within your site? If so, how does the service authentication to AGOL work? Thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
NilsRydh
New Contributor
This is possible using the "App login", as described here:
https://developers.arcgis.com/en/authentication/app-logins.html

It requires some development to create an application that implements this functionality in a web application.
0 Kudos
WhereMatters
Occasional Contributor

Hi Nils,

Sorry to wake a three year old thread. I was having the same question and your response prompted me to look further.

It seems you "cannot" use app logins for spatial analysis services.

Please have a look at the capabilities table in this link ArcGIS Security and Authentication | ArcGIS for Developers under app logins. It clearly states app logins cannot be used with spatial analysis services.

capabilities.PNG

0 Kudos
PanagiotisPapadopoulos
Esri Regular Contributor

For Spatial Analysis Services see here

Get started with the Spatial Analysis service—ArcGIS REST API: Spatial Analysis Service | ArcGIS for...

Licensing