Spatial Views not Updating

Jump to solution
02-26-2013 05:53 AM
AndrewBrown1
Occasional Contributor II
Hello,

I'm new to the spatial view world, and I my spatial views aren't updating when I update the base feature class. Here is my situation:

We have several spatial views built from a script. The views were created using different definition queries, but they're all from the same base feature class. The spatial views are used on a production server within a web mapping application, so they have locks created by the ArcGIS server service. The base feature class has been "registered as versioned" in order to create and add new data. When I added new data to the base feature class, the spatial views didn't update with the new features.

Is this because of the "locks" on the spatial views from the server service?

Why aren't they updating? Shouldn't they update automatically?

Thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AdamZiegler
New Contributor III
I think it may be a version issue you're dealing with. You said you versioned the data, are you editing that data through a child version of default? Are your spatial views pulling data from the Default version or a child of Default? If your views are looking at default and you are editing a child of default then you need to reconcile and post your changes to the default version. You could also use the 'move to base' option to ensure your edits are being pushed to the default version of the database.

Did you create the map service consuming the views prior to versioning the data? If that is the case, you may need to look at the service again. When you create a spatial view of a versioned feature class you need to tell ArcMap what version to look at, you will be prompted to chose a version when you add the spatial view. I think that is stored in the mxd and then in the service.

Adam Z

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
AdamZiegler
New Contributor III