Zoom and show nearest features?

01-04-2023 11:40 AM
MatthewMalone
Occasional Contributor

I'm relatively new to Experience Builder, so I wanted to determine if the following is even possible.  Namely, is there a way that a feature can be zoomed into on a map and then display features/points from another layer that fall within a set distance?  

The general scenario is in regards to fire hydrant proximity.  Our Fire Department would like to enter an address, have the map zoom to that property at a set zoom level, and then only display fire hydrants within 1,000 meters of the property.  I'm not sure of Exp. Builder's query/buffer capabilities to know if this could be done on the fly.  

Any insights are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

-Matt, Farmington Hills, MI

0 Kudos
3 Replies
novakc
by
New Contributor II

Hi.  I've been playing around with an AI Chatbot that is supposed to be able to answer any question.  To test it  I came to the community and yours was the first unanswered question I found.  This is what it said:

Yes, you can use the Buffer operation in Experience Builder to create a buffer around the property and then use the Select Within operation to select the hydrants within the buffer.

Here's how you can do this:

1. Add a Map widget to your Experience Builder page and configure it to display the property layer and the fire hydrant layer.

2. Add a Textbox widget to the page and configure it to accept an address.

3. Add a Button widget to the page and configure it to execute a script when clicked.

4. In the script, use the Geocode operation to convert the address entered in the Textbox widget to a location on the map.

5. Use the Zoom To operation to zoom the map to the location of the property.

6. Use the Buffer operation to create a buffer around the property with a radius of 1000 meters.

7. Use the Select Within operation to select the fire hydrants within the buffer.