RTK Corrections and Offline Editing

Jump to solution
06-30-2023 06:33 AM
GregCarlino2
Occasional Contributor

Greetings:

I am new to field data collection, so I'm still learning basic workflows and need to clarify my understanding of a seeming contradiction in the data-collection process:

I have a Leica GG04 Plus, with Zeno Connect, which I would like to use for High Accuracy data collection within Field Maps.  Being in Ohio, we have access to the ODOT Real Time Network (NTRIP), which can provide the necessary RTK corrections to achieve the high accuracy (1-2cm horizontal) advertised with the GG04.  This connection, however, requires a Wi-Fi connection.  If wi-fi is required for, then I would need to take a mobile hot-spot (or possibly a tablet with cellular plan) to acquire this connection in the field.  (I'm trying to avoid an using L-Band correction service subscription).  However, a wi-fi connection would make offline data collection a moot point.  Is this a Catch-22, or is my understanding off?  Do I have to choose between High Accuracy and Offline collection capability?

Thank you,

Greg

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MichaelLohr
Occasional Contributor II

Greg your setup is very similar to what we have been running for several years, using Trimble Mobile Manager (TMM), R1 and R2 GPS and using the cm level high accuracy via internet connection when using the R2. Our mobile field units all have cellular capability, and this enables access to the RTK corrections via internet. Our connection to the correction signal is similar to your ODOT connection.