Cannot select object in layout view

Jump to solution
03-12-2024 04:56 PM
TimothyFratta
New Contributor III

Hello,

I am a total noob with ArcGIS, but I just finished UC Davis's Coursera course Fundamentals of GIS, so I am starting.

Anyhow, I am creating a layout for a solar project and all was going fine until today. I simply cannot select any of the objects in insertes in the layout: I can't select the North arrow, the scale, any of the text boxes I added. Nada.

I click on the Select by Rectangle tool, but when I click on any of the objects I've added to the layout they no longer are highlighted. Even if I click on Select All from the ribbon, the object seem selected in the Content pane but they are NOT highlighted in my main screen.

What am I doing wrong?

Please help!

Thanks,

Tim

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RichardHowe
Occasional Contributor III

Tim, I would guess that these items are locked.

When you lock them in the options tab of the element pane then they are no longer selectable via the select tool (as this gives access to resizing, moving etc.). Once they are locked they can only be accessed by highlighting the element in the contents.

To check, right-click an element in your contents pane and choose properties from the dropdown menu.

RichardHowe_0-1710317857364.png

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
RichardHowe

Tim, I would guess that these items are locked.

When you lock them in the options tab of the element pane then they are no longer selectable via the select tool (as this gives access to resizing, moving etc.). Once they are locked they can only be accessed by highlighting the element in the contents.

To check, right-click an element in your contents pane and choose properties from the dropdown menu.

RichardHowe_0-1710317857364.png

0 Kudos
TimothyFratta
New Contributor III

Thank you Richard, you are spot on!

0 Kudos
TimothyFratta
New Contributor III

Hi Richard,