Field Calculate a List using Arcade/Python after Spatially Joining

08-09-2023 12:29 PM
CiaraMarleneKeenan
New Contributor II

Problem: I want to get multiple records from one field(FacilityID) into one APN record in a list format that is also in numerical order.

My workflow: Spatially Joined 2 layers(one to many) and now I have duplicate APN records. I would like to have the individual APNs with the multiple Facility IDs listed in one record. I know I could always copy and paste data into excel and do what I need to do there, but I really want to learn arcade 🙂 

My experience with using arcade has only been for formatting labels and simple field calculations. So I am still fairly new to the scripting game.

3 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi @CiaraMarleneKeenan,

You could do this via python.  Below is an example.  It first gets a dictionary of all APNs with their FacilityID.  Then delete's all identical rows based on the APN field.  Finally, it updates the FacilityID field for each APN based off the dictionary.  You will want to make sure the field, FacilityID, you are updating is a TEXT field.

import arcpy

table = r'C:\TEMP\Python\Test.gdb\Areas'

# Create dictionary of APNs and FacilityIDs
apnDict = {}
with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(table, ['APN', 'FacilityID']) as cursor:
    for row in cursor:
        apnDict.setdefault(row[0], [])
        apnDict[row[0]].append(str(row[1]))
del cursor

# Delete Identical APNs
arcpy.DeleteIdentical_management(table, 'APN')

# Update APNs with Facility IDs
with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(table, ['APN', 'FacilityID']) as cursor:
    for row in cursor:
        facilities = apnDict[row[0]]
        facilityIDs = ', '.join(facilities)
        row[1] = facilityIDs
        cursor.updateRow(row)
del cursor

Before:

JakeSkinner_0-1691611139459.png

After:

JakeSkinner_1-1691611160853.png

RhettZufelt
MVP Frequent Contributor