Import custom arcpy modules in Pro 1.4 (from Python addin structure)

Jump to solution
04-18-2017 05:55 PM
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

I'm trying to test some of my custom tools, written for a ArcCatalog python addin.   This is my first attempt to use Pro, without the convenience and the power we have with ArcCatalog (but hoping the idea: Add Stand Alone Data Catalog Like ArcCatalog to ArcGIS Pro  will still happen so that this isn't as critical a test ....please vote up the idea! ).

I have several blahUtils.py  type scripts to separate/organize my common functions. These are located in my Scripts folder in my addin file structure and I import into my tools/scripts using

from blahUtils import *

from moreBlahUtils import *

# etc...

rather than in a library in the python folder....that is, keep the addin all together.

This structure works well in ArcCatalog running is as an built/installed addin or from the Toolbox/Tool used to create the addin.

Putting aside the differences between Python 2.x and 3.x for the time being, how would I import the utility python scripts within my main tool script?  I have read thru

Importing ArcPy—ArcPy Get Started | ArcGIS Desktop    and

Python migration from 10.x to ArcGIS Pro—ArcPy Get Started | ArcGIS Desktop   (no, I have not run the 2to3 tool yet)

but those seem to refer to fairly standard modules.  I would like to keep my scripts in the folder structure for my toolbox (i.e. the addin structure) if possible.

The error I am getting

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "\\<server>\c$\Users\<user>\_MyPyAddins\dwcUpdateMasterFGDB\Install\scripts\01-CopyDWCMasterSDEtoFGDB.py", line 47, in <module>
    from ADFGUtils import *
  File "\\<server>\c$\Users\<user>\_MyPyAddins\dwcUpdateMasterFGDB\Install\scripts\ADFGUtils.py", line 134
    self.__dict__ = self"""
                         ^
SyntaxError: (unicode error) 'unicodeescape' codec can't decode bytes in position 188-189: truncated \UXXXXXXXX escape