Calculating standard deviations of elevation within specific buffers

09-24-2015 07:37 AM
Jessica_Fort
New Contributor

I've already posted this so I apologize for any confusion, but I accidentally marked the question as "Assumed Answered" and it's not allowing me to change that or erase my post, so here it is again.

I'm fairly new to GIS and I haven't been able to find much on this specific topic in the ESRI community.

I would like to be able to calculate a "Terrain Ruggedness" index for each one of my sites in my study area and found a couple different suggestions, but I think calculating the standard deviation of elevation would give me useful values.  The problem is I can't find how to calculate this within specific buffers.  For example, I have made a TIN from a contour shapefile around my sites (Figure 1; edited with river shapefile) and then converted that to a Raster shapefile (Figure 2).  I've made 500m buffers around each site and would like to calculate the standard deviation of elevation within those buffers for each site.  OR really any kind of value that could measure "terrain ruggedness" within each buffer.

Are there any suggestions on how to do this?

Thanks!

Jess

Figure 1. TIN

Screenshot_TIN.png

Figure 2. Raster

Screenshot_DEM.png

0 Kudos
6 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

HI Jessica

Have you looked at the Zonal Statistics Tool?  It should be able to calculate the standard deviation for each different buffer area, if you select STD for the statistics type.

ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

Also for the record, you posted this in the GeoNET help area, which is supposed to be for questions regarding Geonet.  I went ahead and shared it with Spatial Analyst and Spatial Statistics, but if possible you should move it to the correct area.

Jessica_Fort
New Contributor

Thanks Ian, I went ahead and moved it to Spatial Analyst and Spatial Statistics.