Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component

Jump to solution
03-10-2014 02:35 AM
LeonoreBehr
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to Archydro and have installed Archydro in ArcMap 10.1. Everytime I try to run one of the applications like calculating slope or flowdirection out of my .grd or .tif the Error  "HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component" (or in my case in German: "Beim Aufruf einer COM-Komponente wurde ein HRESULT E_FAIL-Fehler zurückgegeben.") appears.
I have a huge DEM to work with and wanted to calculate the Catchment area.

Does anyone know what the cuase of this error could be? I already shortened the workpath and the filename but this didn't help.

Thanks in advance!!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
ClaraRose
New Contributor

Hi Mark, thanks for all these tips. 

I am having this same issue. 

I copied all the files from my company server to my local C driver and also saved the mxd files there. I also changed the Process extent to the size of the layer that is larger in extent. 

However, this is still resulting in the same error. 

It is strange because yesterday I went through the same process, without saving the input files locally, and I did not receive this error. 

Currently, I am getting this error when using ArcHydro, Terrain Preprocessing, Fill Sinks. 

I would greatly appreciate any further suggestions. 

C

0 Kudos
JonathanMcGlade
New Contributor II

I haven't had this issue in a while. I created a brand new Geodatabase, as well as a Mosaic. I noticed that I would typically have this issue if I forgot to "Stop Editing" a mosaic, or if the mosaic itself had become corrupt (which happened several times, an I am not sure why).

Our organization also has upgraded to 10.6. I wish I could be more help.

BeatriceO_Hara
New Contributor