Reprojecting Rasters Issue

08-09-2011 07:19 AM
EricaNewton
New Contributor
Hi there,

I am new to python and attempting to set up a batch process to reproject rasters in a folder. 

This is the script and error message I am getting.  I defined the projection of the rasters in the folder to WGS 1984 UTM Zone 16N before starting.

>>> import arcpy
... arcpy.env.workspace = r"C:/GIS/NDVI/Georef_27_21_TIFFs/test"
... rasterList = arcpy.ListRasters("*", "All")
... for raster in rasterList:
...     print raster
... outraster = raster+"_ontlambproj"
... arcpy.ProjectRaster_management("raster", "outraster", "MNR_LAMBERT_PROJECTION_3161.prj", "NEAREST", "30", "WGS_1984_(ITRF00)_To_NAD_1983", "#", r"C:/Program Files/ArcGIS/Desktop10.0/Coordinate Systems/Projected Coordinate Systems/UTM/WGS 1984/Northern Hemisphere/WGS 1984 UTM Zone 16N.prj")
L5027021_02119850802_B30.TIF

LT5027021008516650_B3.tif

Runtime error <class 'arcgisscripting.ExecuteError'>: Undefined coordinate system for input dataset.

Can anyone help me determine why I am getting this error?

Thank you so much!

Erica
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
"raster" and "outraster" are variables not string names, so remove the quotes and try that.
0 Kudos
EricaNewton
New Contributor
THANK YOU!!!  I thought it must have been a simple solution, but being very new to this,  I have been working on it for days.  I'm still having a problem with the file name (it renames the files as originalfilename.tif_olp.tif - need to fix that to originalfilename_olp.tif but I think I can figure that out - here is the final script that properly reprojects the tif.

... import arcpy
... arcpy.env.workspace = r"C:/GIS/NDVI/Georef_27_21_TIFFs/test"
... rasterList = arcpy.ListRasters("*", "All")
... for raster in rasterList:
...     print raster
... outraster = raster+"_olp.tif"