ArcGIS Pro Requested operation could not be completed

Jump to solution
11-06-2015 12:22 PM
JasonHarshman
Occasional Contributor

I am using ArcGIS Pro 1.1 and trying to make some symbology changes on a feature class. Specifically, I am trying to format all symbols and trying to sort the label. In each instance, I get the error banner on top of the Symbology pane saying "Requested operation could not be completed." I'm new to Pro so I have no idea what this means or where to even begin troubleshooting other than closing Pro and trying again - which doesn't work.

Thanks,

Jason

Here's the error:

Capture.PNG

Message was edited by: Jason Harshman

24 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I too am experiencing this.  It was working fine on a particular layer so I could group the symbology, now it will not respond to any changes no matter what I do.  I've tried a reboot, fresh ArcGIS Pro project, copying the layer... no matter what I do I cannot change the symbology any further for this ArcSDE layer.

Now my layout is stuck with this:

rather than one green patch.  The blue, orange and red patches are all grouped.

0 Kudos
PennyHornsby2
New Contributor II

This issue still exists in Pro 2.4.3. I am attempting to symbolize a selection (only within a specific Precinct boundary) of our subdivision feature based on two unique values from a feature in SDE. 

0 Kudos
WoodyGulledge
New Contributor

I was having similar problems (arcgis pro 2.5.0):   when trying to change the labels on a layer symbolized with graduated colors, the labels would attach to the wrong value and/or I would get the "Requested operation could not be completed" message.

I believe the problem arises if the field you are basing the symbology on has Null values.  My workaround was to switch to a Unique Values symbology and create a simple Arcade expression to handle the Null values.  Now I am able to change the labels and no longer get the message.